Starting off the New Year right!

It always makes me feel good to finish things.  I seem to start and start, but not typically finish!  HA!  I have a few things to show today, woo!  

First, it’s Baby Starghan for Cheerio.   (That’s NanC and Matty’s bebeh.)  This was done in cotton-ease.

I also have a couple of caps for friends going through chemo.  The first one being modeled by my baby Nephew.   He actually walked around the house like that, running into stuff and laughing. He really cracks me up.  This cap is based on the Yarn Harlot’s basic hat pattern and I used part of the We Call Them Pirates pattern for the band. 

 One more… this is a sleeping cap for a friend with breast cancer.  I used organic cotton and the Lace-Edged Women’s Hat pattern.  I made this same cap for my Mom when she went through breast cancer and she loved it. 

In the current pile “to be finished” are two scarves, two socks, and a variety of other things that have been in the pile for a while.  I didn’t make any New Year resolutions related to that pile.  They don’t work for me.  I do intend to stick with my yarn diet of sorts… I can only buy yarn when I travel, called souvenir yarn.  I did really well with that last year!  I travel enough for work and fun that I didn’t feel deprived. 

Had a great time New Years Eve!  We went to a friends house and had a bonfire. 

Happy 2009!  Hope it is filled with love, fun, friends, and good knitting mojo! 

5 Responses

  1. Happy New Year! Omg – Cheerio is gonna luvluvluv the star blanket! Thank you so much – it’s awesome!

    Those hats are great, and the idea of your nephew running around with the one over his eyes is silly and cracks me up.

    Looks like you & Mike had a fun time at the bonfire. No problem keeping warm, eh?

  2. Very cute stuff! How wonderful of you to make the caps for friends battling cancer. My mom is a two time survivor (Breast and Ovarian). You guys look like you were having fun at the bonfire. Happy New Years!

  3. PS Love how delicate the sleeping cap is!

  4. Nothing like a good bonfire! Looks like a lot of fun.

  5. i love your knitwork (is that what you call?)
    tried knitting but just not my type 🙂
    but what you did here, are soooo cool.

Leave a Reply

